#Glocafawards2016: Full List Of 2016 Glo CAF Awards Winners

GLO-CAF Awards 2016, the African Football Awards were given by the Continental governing body in , CAF. The awards, which were sponsored by one of the Africa’s largest telecommunication companies Glo, happened in Abuja Nigeria on Thursday, January 5, 2017.

The Uganda National Team, Uganda Cranes became the African Team of the year while the Ugandan “safe hands” Goal Keeper Denis Onyango, who plays for the South African club Mamelodi Sundowns, became the African player of the Year (Based in Africa).

The Algeria and Leicester City player Riyad MAHREZ managed to scoop the overall player of the year award. Nigerian president, Buhari scooped the CAF Platinum Award, while Mamelodi Sundowns won the Club of the year award.

Here’s a full list of winners:

  • National Team of the Year – Uganda National Team
  • Women’s National Team of the Year – Super Falcons of Nigeria
  • African Club of the Year – Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)
  • Most Promising Talent – Kelechi Iheanacho
  • Youth Player of the Year – Alex Iwobi
  • Coach of the Year – Pitso Mosimane (South Africa)
  • Women’s Player of the Year – As is at Oshoala (Nigeria)
  • Referee of the Year – Bakary Papa Gassama (Gambia)
  • Legend Award – Emilienne Mbango (Cameroon) and Laurent Pokou (Cote d’Ivoire)
  • African Based Player of the Year – Denis Onyango (Uganda)
  • Football Leader of the Year – Manuel Lopes Nascimento
  • Topmost Promoter of Football in Africa – President Muhammadu Buhari
  • African Player of the Year – Riyad Mahrez (Algeria)