CAF set to celeberate 25th year awards night

Nigeria is set to host the  annual CAF Awards which  enters its 25th edition.

The King of African football will be crowned at the International Conference Centre in Abuja, among the trio of last year’s winner, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang of Gabon, Riyad Mahrez of Algeria and Senegalese Sadio Mane.

From 1992 to 2015, from Ghana’s Abedi Pele to Gabonese Aubameyang, 15 players have laid claim to the most prestigious individual honour in African football.

Cameroonian Samuel Eto’o was the first to be crowned on four occasions – 2003, 2004, 2005 and 2010; a record since equalled by Toure, who made it four on the trot (2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014). Former Senegal forward, El Hadji Diouf won the award twice in a row; 2001 and 2002.

However, the first player to have been named CAF African Player of the Year on two occasions was ex-Nigeria captain, Nwankwo Kanu, in 1996 and 1999 before Ivorian Didier Drogba replicated the feat in 2006 and 2009.

Winners of the prestigious honour have come from either the midfield or attack; and that tradition will be respected yet again this time, with the three contenders being attackers.

In addition, the 15 players to have been decorated since 1992, have and continue to remain amongst the foremost African ambassadors of the world’s most popular sport.

There are also several others who were so near and yet so far, including Ivorian goalkeeper Alain Gouamene in 1992; Moroccan defender Noureddine Naybet (sixth in 1993); Nigerian Daniel Amokachi, who regularly featured among the top ten (10) whilst Chadian Japhet N’Doram was virtually handicapped by the non-presence of his national team at the final phase of a major continental championship.

South African defender, Mark Fish also settled for sixth position in 1996. Ghanaian defender Samuel Kuffour narrowly missed out on two occasions, 1999 and 2001.

Others are Michael Essien of Ghana, who made the final three an unprecedented five times in a row – 2005 (third), 2006 (third), 2007 (second), 2008 (third) and 2009 (third); Asamoah Gyan, also from Ghana, 2010 (second); Andre Ayew (Ghana), 2011 (third) & 2015 (third) and Malian Seydou Keita, 2011 (second). So are Nigerian duo, John Obi Mikel and Vincent Enyeama, who finished second and third in 2013 and 2014 respectively.

When the roll call for the laureates is launched, there is one noticeable observation. Cote d’Ivoire is the country which has the biggest number of triumphs, six in total, Toure (four) and Drogba (two); followed by Nigeria on five titles, two for Kanu, one each for Emmanuel Amunike, Rashidi Yekini and Victor Ikpeba.

Patrick Mboma won it once coupled with Eto’o’s four also gives Cameroon five titles. Diouf is responsible for the only two titles in the name of Senegal. One-time winners include Ghana – Abedi Pele, Liberia – George Weah (the only African player to have been crowned FIFA World Footballer of the Year), Morocco – Mustapha Hadji, Mali – Frederic Kanoute and Togo – Emmanuel Adebayor and Aubameyang on the ticket of Gabon.

Another common feature is that all winners plied their trade in Europe at the time of their coronation.

For the last decade, the Awards Gala has been sponsored by Cellular Telecommunications outfit, Globacom, who have raised the bar of excellence with splendid ceremonies in cities such as Abuja, Accra, Lome, Lagos and Cairo.

Nominees announced for other categories

The categories include: Women’s Player of the Year, National Team of the Year, Club of the Year, Coach of the Year, Women’s National Team of the Year, Youth Player of the Year, Most Promising Talent, Referee of the Year, Football Leader of the Year, Fair Play Award, African Legend, Platinum Award, Africa Finest XI.

The winners will be decided by votes from the CAF Technical & Development, Media Committees and a panel of 20 experts (Journalists, TV consultants) except Fair Play, Legend and Platinum awards, which are not subject to vote.

For this year, there will be no votes for the Youth National Team of the Year.

The Referee of the Year will be voted only by the CAF Referees Committee.

Women’s Player of the Year

  • Asisat OSHOALA (Nigeria & Arsenal Ladies)
  • Elizabeth Addo (Ghana & Kvarnsvedensik)
  • Gabrielle ABOUDI ONGUENE (Cameroon & Rossiyanka)
  • Janine VAN WYK (South Africa & JVW)
  • Raissa FEUDJIO TCHUANYO (Cameroon & Aland United)

Most promising Talent

  • Elia MESCHAK (DR Congo & TP Mazembe)
  • Kelechi IHEANACHO (Nigeria & Manchester City)
  • Naby KEITA (Guinea & RB Leipzig)
  • Oghenekaro ETEBO (Nigeria & CD Feirense)
  • Ramadan SOBHI (Egypt & Stoke City)

Youth Player of the Year

  • Alex IWOBI (Nigeria & Arsenal)
  • Eric AYIAH (Ghana U-17)
  • Franck KESSIE (Cote d’Ivoire & Atalanta)
  • Sandra OWUSU-ANSAH (Ghana & Supreme Ladies)
  • Sidiki MAIGA (Mali U-20)

Coach of the Year

  • Florent IBENGE (DR Congo)
  • Milutin ‘Micho’ SREDOJEVIC (Uganda)
  • Pitso MOSIMANE (Mamelodi Sundowns)
  • Nacer SANDJAK (MO Bejaia)
  • Florence OMAGBEMI (Nigeria women’s national team)

Referee of the Year

  • Papa Gasama, Gambia
  • Grishea Gehead, Egypt
  • Malang Diedhiou, Senegal

Club of the Year

  • Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)
  • MO Bejaia (Algeria)
  • TP Mazembe (DR Congo)
  • Zamalek (Egypt)
  • Zesco United (Zambia)

National Team of the Year

  • DR Congo
  • Guinea Bissau
  • Nigeria U-23
  • Senegal
  • Uganda

Women’s National Team of the Year

  • Cameroon
  • Ghana
  • Nigeria
  • South Africa
  • Zimbabwe

Previous Award winners (Player of the year)
1992 Abedi AYEW PELE (Ghana)
1993 Rashidi YEKINI (Nigeria)
1994 Emmanuel AMUNIKE (Nigeria)
1995 George WEAH (Liberia)
1996 Nwankwo KANU (Nigeria)
1997 Victor IKPEBA (Nigeria)
1998 Mustapha HADJI (Morocco)
1999 Nwankwo KANU (Nigeria)
2000 Patrick MBOMA (Cameroon)
2001 El-Hadji DIOUF (Senegal)
2002 El Hadji DIOUF (Senegal)
2003 Samuel ETO’O (Cameroon)
2004 Samuel ETO’O (Cameroon)
2005 Samuel ETO’O (Cameroon)
2006 Didier DROGBA (Côte d’Ivoire)
2007 Frederic KANOUTE (Mali)
2008 Emmanuel ADEBAYOR (Togo)
2009 Didier DROGBA (Côte d’Ivoire)
2010 Samuel ETO’O (Cameroon)
2011 Yaya TOURE (Côte d’Ivoire)
2012 Yaya TOURE (Côte d’Ivoire)
2013 Yaya TOURE (Côte d’Ivoire)
2014 Yaya TOURE (Côte d’Ivoire)
2015 Pierre-Emerick AUBAMEYANG (Gabon)
2016 ?????



2 thoughts on “CAF set to celeberate 25th year awards night

  1. Hey there!

    I’m K&L from the Millionaire’s Digest who runs the website and the 300+ Millionaire’s Digest team, and I recently received your application to join our team. This is a letter to let you know that I’ve looked over everything and everything looks good, so I’ve sent you an invitation to your email! Thank you, and I can’t wait to see you soon!

    The Millionaire’s Digest Author, Publisher & CEO


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s